Online Store Hospitality Buy Tickets

First year scholars take the stage

11th May 2018

Academy manager Mark Spencer has expressed his pride at the performance of the Under-18s in last week's final game of the EFL Youth Alliance campaign against third-placed Chesterfield.

Although losing a five goal thriller, City fielded seven first year scholars due to the absence of departing second year scholars who were involved in Football League 'exit trials'.

Spencer said: "I was really proud of all the players. We were looking to the future without those who are leaving and it was the perfect opportunity to see what we might look like next season."

Report continues......

"You don't like to lose and we knew it would be an uphill battle but I was really pleased. We were playing against a lot of older players who were bigger, stronger, and faster than us - but we told the players to work in units and we frustrated them as much as possible. They worked together, competed well, and showed a good attitude."

Article continues:

Striker Flynn McNaughton opened the scoring with an early goal for City and midfielder Nathan Dyer added an excellent solo goal in the second half.

McNaughton, Harry Thompson, and goalkeeper Ryan Whitley were the only second year scholars involved in the game. Midfielder Alfie Evans, only 15, came on as a substitute for City in the final 20 minutes of the game.

Chesterfield settled the contest with a goal in the closing stages.

City had lost their penultimate game of the season three days earlier 3-0 against Grimsby Town.

The first year Academy scholars are now on summer holiday and will be back in the club at the end of July.

City U18s (V Grimsby Town): Whitley; Stuart, R.Harrison, Thompson, Rogerson (C), Cawthorn, Haigh (Overton 64), Dyer, McNaughton, Berry, A.Harrison. Unused substitute: Wilton.

City U18s (V Chesterfield): Whitley; Shaw (Evans 70), R.Harrison, Dyer, Cawthorn, Stuart, Overton (A.Harrison 62), Thompson (C), McNaughton, Linthep, Steels (Haigh 81). Unused substitute: Kemp.

Main team photo (V Chesterfield): Back row (l-r): Alfie Evans, Nathan Dyer, Isaac Overton, Ryan Whitley, Flynn McNaughton, Jack Cawthorn, Harry Thompson, Mark Spencer (Academy manager). Front row (l-r): Oliver Haigh, Vinnie Steels, Reiss Harrison, James Shaw, Sanny Linthep, Joe Kemp, Aston Harrison, Luke Stuart.


Can't find what you're looking for? Try searching.

Search form


Search form

Sign up to our newsletter to receive the latest updates!